Posted on: January 4, 2017

Staff Turned Commissioner Named Board President


Longview, WA– Today, the Port of Longview Board of Commissioners kicked off its first meeting of the year by unanimously voting Commissioner Doug Averett as the new Board President. He takes over for Commissioner Bob Bagaason, who served as Board President for the two previous years. Commissioner Bagaason moves into the Board Secretary role and Commissioner Jeff Wilson becomes the Board Vice President. “It is an honor to be voted into the position,” said Averett. “Commissioner Bagaason did a great job as President for the last two years, and I look forward to continuing his legacy and leading the Port to continued success.” Averett was formerly the Port of Longview’s Director of Operations, retiring from the Port in 2015 after nearly thirty years of service. He was appointed to the Commission shortly after his retirement to fulfill the remainder of the term vacated by District 2 Commissioner Lou Johnson.

Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email